Mi Product: “J “

BEFORE YOU READ THIS POST PLEASE RESPECT MY OWN WORK & CRAFT . I OWN ALL COPYRIGHTS TO THIS PRODUCT, POST, PAGE AND WORDPRESS. I ALSO HAVE THE RIGHTS TO ALL THE THINGS POSTED ON HERE.THANK YOU.

This post is dedicated to an assignment for my Understanding Fashion Production class. Mi product: “J ” is a taste of what one of my signature creations would look like. For this assignment we had to first create a mockup and now we are creating the final production product. For me, this is another sample because it’s not in production yet but I believe it will be in the near future. This was a very time consuming assignment which did take a lot longer than I expected but patience and craft is never rushed. The name of this product is ” J”. J is a backpack slightly larger and lengthier than the average backpack .

J is a product that was a little tricky at first because I had no idea what would the outcome would look like from the mockup to the sample. I also did not anticipate the manual labor creating the prints by hand on to the fabric. To create this one of a kind/one of my signatures it took at least 3-4 hours. The reason behind this is the extensive labor, creating the print on to the fabrics by hand, letting the mediums dry on to the fabric, to cutting the pieces, construction the product together piece by piece and making sure everything was according to my pattern and idea. The cost of the (fabrics) was $18, (mediums; paint, dye,etc) $44 because it was multiple products, (pattern) $15, (labor) $30 per piece. To create it would cost $107 to create this bag into production. I thought this was a great assignment and fun to execute minus the extensive hours it took me,  I did appreciate this process. As a fashion student this was an experience to see how well I can manufacture my own product, the business part of the industry and an idea of what the individual is doing inside the factory or warehouse to create my product.

I have also attached detailed photo collage of my assignment. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did 🙂IMG_3688

 

Leave a Reply

